My Writing Process–Part 2

Standard

Hello, everyone!  Hope that everyone is enjoying the weekend.  I’m here again because of James McAllister.  His blog is here http://fortiterpublishing.com/blog/my-writing-process-blog-tour/ and his writing is here http://www.amazon.com/James-McAllister/e/B00DA1ZSFI 

James is a friend of mine through a series of writer’s groups that we have shared, and I have come to really appreciate his sense of humor and work ethic.  If you like science fiction, you will enjoy his books immensely.

I’m a retired teacher after 30 years of service in the states of Wyoming, Colorado, and Nevada.  I am currently a caregiver for my 95-year-old mother who still lives in her own home.  She’s pretty sharp mentally which is very fortunate.

I started on my writing “career” when I was a teenager by using poetry as a form of communicating my feelings.  I always thought I would write the “Great American Novel”, but life got in the way.  After I retired, it seemed like a good idea.  However, my younger cat, Sammy, changed my mind.

These are the questions that James wanted me to answer:

1.  What are you working on?

I’ve finally decided to publish another book in the Sam, the Superkitty, series. Self-publishing seems to be the way to go after the experience I had with a publisher. We’ll see what happens. I’ve had people reminding this year that they had grandchildren as a subtle hint for me to get busy!

2.  How does my work differ from others of its genre?

It seems that I write more from a cat’s perspective than as the storyteller of a cat’s adventures. I often wonder what my two are saying or thinking. Things can get pretty crazy when I let my imagination run.

3.  Why do I write what I write?

Since I live with this “raw material” everyday, it was a natural thing for me to do. Also, when I taught school, I loved watching the faces of children as they listened to a story. The smiles are their faces and their giggles showed me how much they enjoyed what they were hearing. That was very satisfying for me.

4.  How does your writing process work?

Sometimes my writing process doesn’t work! Just kidding. However, there are days when the words come easier than others. I try to write for half an hour in the morning, but life and family can sometimes get in the way.

5.  Add a little example of your work.

This is an excerpt from the story, Sam, the Superkitty, Meets the Brown Monster: One day while Sammy was napping and dreaming of far-away places, a noise disturbed him. It didn’t sound like anything he’d ever heard before. He tried ignoring it, but that didn’t work. The noise was still there. He tried hiding from it, but that didn’t work either. So he decided to read about it. But, since he really didn’t know WHAT was causing the noise, that didn’t help either! The only thing left to do was go to where the noise was coming from and check it out. He practiced his best monster attacking skills before going into the bedroom to find the noise and what was causing it. What he saw was sooooooo scary!!

Two author friends have agreed to post about themselves next week.  They are Micki Peluso and Anne Reeve.

Micki Peluso’

Micki Peluso

 

I began writing after a personal tragedy, as a catharsis for my grief. This lead to a first time out publication in Victimology: An International Magazine and a 25 year career in Journalism. I’ve freelanced and been staff writer for one major newspaper and written for two more. I have published short fiction and non-fiction, as well as slice of life stories in colleges and other magazines and in e-zine editions. My first book was published in 2008; a funny family memoir of love, loss and survival, called, . . .AND THE WHIPPOORWILL SANG which won the Nesta CBC silver award for writing that makes a change in the world. Two of my short horror stories have been published in an anthology called “Speed of Dark.” I am presently working on a collection of short fiction, slice of life stories and essays, in a book called, Heartbeat. . .slices of life.

Links:http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=38555070&trk=

https://www.facebook.com/AndTheWhippoorwillSang?ref=hl

http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/811377-micki-peluso

Anne Reeve

ANNE REEVE

Anne is also a retired teacher turned author.  Her background is:

Studied at University of Wales- Caerleon > Dramatic Art> Producing/Directing /Script writing/Dance>Teaching >
past Licensee The White Lion in Islington London and The Walmer Castle, Margate.
Trained as Teacher English Literature / Drama/ Man, Society and Culture/ Education.
Recent Publication
WITH DEVILS DWELL 1850 Victorian Thriller Historical Fiction Women convicts transported to Van Diemen’s Land
Rhoda’s life is in jeopardy. She has been caught like a fish in the net, with no way of escape. Danger, terror and a fear of not knowing her past produces a dread of the future. Her only friend is Molly a Convict girl like herself. It is with Molly’s help – she has to learn to play ‘the deadly games’ that will test her sanity and strength.  Can she capture the ‘devil serpent’ in its own trap? Set free the elusive butterfly which remains deeply hidden within the ‘tangled terrors’ securely locked behind her own ‘secret door’

Links:

https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=269284867&authType=name&authToken=KKj0&goback=

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18428306-with-devils-dwell?ac=1

3 thoughts on “My Writing Process–Part 2

Leave a Reply

